STARTUP

Access to external capital is vital - and you are in competition. Larger investors and VC's receive thousands of pitch decks every year. Once your story has convinced others, your figures have to be conclusive as well.

As a founder you need constant control of your financial planning. The financial model is a decision-making tool for you and your potential business partners. Beyond that, it is the roadmap for your personal success story, enabling you to track target attainment efficiently.

 

The first question is whether your commercial approach is economically feasable at all. What are your funding requirements and which financial instruments can be used to meet them? What is your liquidity situation in the first months and years? Up to here, these questions might be answered using spreadsheet templates.

 

In the course of further development of your idea, your financial analysis must also become more sophisticated. Suddenly, potential investors want to know whether working capital is reflected in cashflows, how COGS are affected by economies of scale over time and what equity IRR they can expect in an exit scenario. After all, you mentioned the scalability of your business case. 

At this point, your financial model should provide answeres to those and similar questions and inform investors and financiers in a comprehensive and clear way. In addition, you need enormous flexibility, because most startups change their business model over time.

The focus of funders' ambitions often is on excellent pitch decks and mind-blowing presentations in 120 seconds, to arouse interest in your idea. This is absolutely necessary, keeping in mind that you are in competition for venture capital or funding programmes. Nevertheless, this is nothing more than the entrance ticket to a profound analysis process, so-called due diligence. It is not unusual that promising investments are cancelled at this point, as a result of incomplete, unrealistic or incomprehensible financial planning.

your benefits

taylor-made financial model

Your business case is prepared fully integrated, including each and every parameter and generates cashflow, P&L and balance sheet. In addition, KPI's and relevant analyses will be added, adjusted, inter alia, according to your branch and the intended financing instruments.

total flexibility

In the course of developing your business model, there will be a vast number of decisions. Build-vs-buy, sell-vs-rent, invest-vs-lease and so on. Your financial model should be capable of supporting your decision-making process by comparing all these scenarios. Even after market entry, it allows you to keep track of your target attainment.

adress your target audience

As a founder you expect flexibility and consistency, but for potential investors and funding agencies, you will need to provide specific additional information and analyses, e.g. valuation, financial sustainability or risk assessment indicators.

professional appearance

What is selv-evident for pitch decks and presentations, is sometimes disregarded when it comes to financials. But this is exactly where you should not miss out on a professional preparation of your business model.

KONTAKT

We'd love to hear from you

Besprechung buchen

+43 664 754 77 0 88

Bewegungsunschärfe
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Find us on LinkedIn

für Startups

Für Ihr Startup benötigen Sie als Gründer den Überblick über Ihre finanzielle Planung. Ihr Financial Model ist Entscheidungsgrundlage für Sie und Ihre potentiellen Geschäftspartner. Darüber hinaus ist es aber auch die Roadmap für Ihre Erfolgsgeschichte, an der Sie später Ihre Zielerreichung effizient nachverfolgen können.

 

Am Beginn steht die Frage, ob Ihr Geschäftsmodell überhaupt wirtschaftlich realisierbar ist. Wie hoch ist der Finanzierungsbedarf und mit welchen Instrumenten können Sie diesen decken? Wie sieht die Liquiditätssituation in den ersten Monaten und Jahren aus. Diese Fragen können Sie vielleicht noch mit vorgefertigten Planungsrechnungen beantworten.

 

Im Laufe der weiteren Entwicklung Ihrer Idee muss aber auch die Planung tiefer werden. Denn plötzlich wollen potenzielle Investoren wissen ob Ihr Working Capital im Cashflow berücksichtigt ist, wie sehr sich Economies of Scale über die Jahre in den COGS auswirken und wie hoch die Equity IRR im Exit Szenario liegt. Sie haben ja mehrfach auf das skalierbare Geschäftsmodell hingewiesen.

Spätestens jetzt sollte Ihr Financial Model Antworten auf diese und ähnliche Fragen beantworten können und in einer Form aufbereitet sein, die Investoren und Finanzierungsgeber nachvollziehbar und übersichtlich informiert. Zusätzlich benötigen Sie enorme Flexibilität, denn die meisten Startups ändern Ihr Geschäftsmodell im Zuge der Entwicklung.

Oft liegt der Fokus zu Beginn auf herausragenden Pitch Decks und der berüchtigten zweiminütigen Unternehmenspräsentation, um Interesse an Ihrer Geschäftsidee zu wecken. Das ist auch notwendig, denn im Rennen um Risikokapital oder Förderprogramme stehen Sie oft im Wettbewerb. Trotzdem ist das nur die Eintrittskarte in einen tieferen Analyseprozess, die sogenannte Due Diligence. Nicht selten werden an dieser Stelle vielversprechende Investments dann doch nicht realisiert, weil die wirtschaftliche Planung unvollständig, unrealistisch oder nicht nachvollziehbar scheint.

Ihre Vorteile

maßgeschneidertes Financial Model

Ihr Geschäftsmodell wird voll integriert dargestellt, umfasst sämtliche Parameter und generiert Cashflow, G&V und Bilanz. Dazu kommen relevante Kennzahlen und Auswertungen. Das richtet sich vorrangig nach der jeweiligen Branche, sowie den zum Einsatz kommenden Finanzierungsinstrumenten. Das ermöglicht neben den standardisierten Statements auch ein Benchmarking mit anderen Unternehmen in der gleichen Branche.

volle Flexibilität

Im Laufe der Entwicklung Ihres Geschäftsmodells stehen Sie vor zahlreichen Entscheidungen. Welche Bestandteile fertigen Sie selbst, was kaufen Sie zu? Verkaufen Sie Ihre Leistungen oder bieten Sie Mietvarianten an? Investieren Sie in Anlagevermögen oder können Sie alternativ leasen? Ihr Financial Model sollte solche Entscheidungen konsistent gegenüberstellen können. Auch nach der Gründung hilft Ihnen Ihr Financial Model Ihre Ziele nicht zu verlieren.

Fokus auf alle Adressaten

Als Gründer erwarten Sie Flexibilität und Konsistenz, für potenzielle Investoren benötigen Sie erste Bewertungsansätze und Fördergeber (abhängig vom Programm) und Banken sind auf die wirtschaftliche Tragfähigkeit bzw. das Ausfallsrisiko fokussiert.

Professionelle Aufbereitung

Was bei Pitch Decks und Unternehmenspräsentationen selbstverständlich ist, gerät bei der Aufbereitung der Geschäftszahlen schnell in der Hintergrund. Gerade hier sollten Sie aber keinesfalls auf einen professionellen Eindruck verzichten.

Sie möchten mehr wissen?

© 2019 foremind Financial Consulting e.U.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Schwarz LinkedIn Icon